Thursday, February 26, 2015

NAG 2015: Registration for Selangorians

The National Age-Group Chess Championships 2015 will be held at Dewan Tan Sri Hamzah Abu Samah, Olympic Hotel, Jalan Hang Jebat, Kuala Lumpur from 20th March (Friday) to 22nd March (Sunday). Every participant shall be given a copy of Certificate of Participation by MCF.

Children (Malaysians only) who are EITHER Born OR Living OR Schooling in Selangor can register via the Association to enjoy a cheaper entry fee of RM50 as opposed to RM70.

The Registration Procedures
1. Fill-up the NAG Entry Form (Page 3) and Scan It

2. To facilitate the payment process, you may bank RM50/pax into Maybank Acc: 112223186563 (Lim Tse Pin). Mr Lim will transfer your payment into MCF account. Scan the bank-in Slip / Capture a screenshot / pdf file if performs via Online Banking [Take note: For bulk registration, payment for all children must be done in ONE TRANSACTION for easy reference. Don't bank directly into MCF account - The account is provided for people who want to pay RM70 as a direct entry]. Last payment date: 3RD MARCH 2015 (TUESDAY)

4. Email all two documents to latest by 3RD MARCH 2015 (TUESDAY)

CAS will not entertain any NAG registration after 3RD MARCH 2015.

The infosheet:-

Entry Form:-

National Closed 2015 - Selangor Representatives

CAS would like to inform that the following players shall represent Selangor in the upcoming National Closed to be held from 14th to 18th March 2015.

Open Category
1. IM Jimmy Liew Chee-Meng
2. Mohd Saprin Sabri
3. Muhd Nabil Azman Hisham
4. Chan Sheng Yip
5. Jax Tham Tick Hong
6. Teh Wee Zhun
7. Chan Kim Yew
8. Muhd Faqih Aminuddin
9. Mohamed Ismail
10. Raja Bazil Bot Raja Badli

Women Category
1. WFM Nur Najiha Azman Hisham
2. WCM Nur Nabila Azman Hisham
3. Nur Faqihah Aminuddin
4. Nur Faiqah Aminuddin
5. Raja Bazilah Bot Raja Badli

CAS wishes our representatives to have good tournament outing. May the best player of the day wins the Championship!

Monday, February 16, 2015

National Closed 2015 - Selection for Selangor Representatives [Please write in]

Dear Selangorians,

The National Closed is scheduled from 14th March to 18th March 2015.

Each State is allowed to send 2 Official Players (fulfilling min national rating /FIDE rating criteria) and 2 Wild Card Players (need not fulfil rating criteria) which is treated as Extra State Player for both Men and Women Category. Each State can also send as many Extra State players as long as they fulfil the rating criteria.
The criteria for Official Player and Extra State Players (except Wild Card Player) as follows:-
Men Qualification       : A minimum rating level of either NR 1650 OR FIDE 1800
Women Qualification : A minimum rating level of either NR 1400 OR FIDE 1550

CAS has extended invitation to 2 highest rated players to represent Selangor as Official Player for both Men and Women Category. CAS will pay the Entry Fees for all Official Players. 

For the Wild Card Slots, CAS will award the 2 Men and 2 Women to the highest rated players (who did not fulfil National Rating Jan release or FIDE Rating March release minimum rating set by MCF). Please email to with (Name and H/p Number) by 21st February for selection purpose. The players who are shortlisted must pay their own entry fee i.e. RM150 each by 24th February.

For any other player who has qualified the rating criteria and would like to join, please write-in to CAS ( by 23rd February. The player has to pay own entry fee i.e. RM150 by 24th February. (Take note that the Entry Fee for Direct registration with MCF without going through State is RM250.)
Lastly, Selangor Players who have qualified under MCF MERIT PERFORMANCES. CAS will be glad to pay for your Entry Fee, however, you must write-in to CAS ( by 23rd February in order for us to submit your name to the Organiser. 
MCF Merit Performances Criteria:-
1. Top 10 Men and Women in NR January 2015 List.  
2. All previous National Masters(NM) and National Women Masters (NWM)
3. National Junior Champions Boy and Girl (U-20) 2014
4. MSSM Individual U-18 Boy Champion and Girl U-18 Champion 2014
5. SUKIPT Champion 2014

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

SSTwo Mall Chess Championship 2014

This year SSTwo Mall in collaboration with CAS will have their event upgraded to a National-rated event.

On 9th Aug, there is an Age-Group event for Under-12 and Under-18 players. While, the Open category shall be played on the following day, 10th Aug.
All chess players who wish to join the event, please send an sms with your name and category (U12 / U18 / Open) to Mr. Hamid Majid (019-315 8098) to book a seat early to avoid disappointment due to limited seats on the venue. Payment can be made on event day. 

How to get there? Here's the map:-

The entry form can be downloaded from here.

Monday, May 5, 2014

41st Selangor Open Chess Tournament - Final Results Cross Table

The final Crosstable and some pictures taken during the Prize-Giving Ceremony

Sunday, May 4, 2014

41st Selangor Open Chess Tournament 2014 - Final Results

The Chess Association of Selangor successfully hosted the 41st Selangor Open Chess Tournament this evening. Top rated IM Nolte Rolando ( FIDE 2417) repeated the feat he clinched two years ago with a 8 1/2 points

In the Closing Speech, CAS President thanked the players both locally and overseas for participating in the Tournament. The relatively strong contingent Filipino contingent almost dominated the top tables.. However the local challenge provided enough sting with Mohd Saprin taking the 2nd spot with a strong 7 1/2 points. The Tournament should serve as an invaluable test of  skills for the local players 

Equally strong challenge came from our local youngster Fong Yit San in 6th Position but the most impressive must be our local girl Rosamund Koo who shot up from her 40th ranking at the start, to a respectable 9th Position, a not so common feat for any female in our local open competition. 
A group photo session of all the Winners
....and the Champion in red T-shirt with CAS Officials